Alabama Sex Offender Records
What is a Sex Offender?
The term “sex offender” refers to a person that is convicted of a sexual-related offense. In the State of Alabama, a person may be a sex offender for violating certain provisions of the Code of Alabama or committing offenses stated in the code. Some of these offenses are rape, sodomy, sexual torture, etc.
Committing sex offenses has dire consequences in Alabama. The responsibility for punishing sex offenders lies with Alabama Courts, which may impose varying degrees of fines and punishments, including prison sentences. Sexual offenders may face certain restrictions like residency, employment, and restrictions on visiting some places by an offender.
Who is Considered a Sex Offender in Alabama?
The Code of Alabama does not give an express definition of the term “sex offender,” but Section 15-20A-4 of the code defines an “Adult Sex Offender” as a person that is convicted of a sex offense. Also, any person that commits offenses created by Article 4, Chapter 6 of Title 13A is a sex offender. These offenses include:
- Rape in the first degree
- Rape in the second degree
- Sodomy in the first degree
- Sodomy in the second degree
- Sexual misconduct
- Sexual torture
- Sexual abuse in the first degree
- Sexual abuse in the second degree
- Indecent exposure
- Enticing a child to enter a house, vehicle, etc. for immoral purposes
- Sexual abuse of a child below 12
- Foster parent engaging in any form of sex act with a foster child
Section 13A-6-60 also defines some acts that may amount to a sex offense. These acts are:
Sexual Intercourse: Apart from its ordinary meaning, it occurs when there is penetration, no matter how slight, and this offense does not require emission.
Sexual Contact: The touching of sexual or other intimate parts of a person not married to the offender and done to gratify sexual desire.
Deviate Sexual Intercourse: Acts of sexual gratification between unmarried persons and involving the sex organs of a person and the anus or anus of the other.
What are the Different Types of Sex Offenses in Alabama?
Below are some of the sex offenses created by the Code of Alabama:
Rape in The First Degree: Under Section 13A-6-61, an offender commits rape in the first degree where:
- The offender engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex, and by forcible compulsion
- The offender engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex who cannot consent to the act because the person is mentally incapacitated or physically helpless
- The offender is 16 or older and engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex who is below 12
The offense of first-degree rape is a Class A felony that attracts a jail term ranging between ten to 99 years or for life, under Section 13A-5-6. If the offender used or attempted to use a deadly weapon in committing the offense or commits a sex offense involving a child, the minimum sentence is 20 years. As a Class A felony, it may also attract a fine of not more than $60,000. Also, where the offender is a sexually violent predator or convicted of a Class A felony sex offense involving a child, the court may impose an extra penalty of ten years post-release supervision after the offender’s release from prison.
Rape in The Second Degree: Under Section 13A-6-62, an offender commits the offense of second-degree rape, where:
- The offender is 16 or older and engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex who is younger than 16 and older than 12, provided the victim is up to two years younger than the offender.
- The offender engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex who cannot consent to the act because of a mental defect.
Second-degree rape is a Class B felony and attracts a jail term of not less than two years and no more than 20 years. If the offender used or attempted to use a deadly weapon to commit the offense or the sex offense involved a child, the minimum jail term is ten years. Rape in the second degree may also attract a fine of not more than $30,000.
Sodomy in The First Degree: Under Section 13A-6-63, an offender commits the crime of first-degree sodomy where the offender:
- Engages in any form of deviate sexual intercourse with another person, using forcible compulsion
- Engages in any form of deviate sexual intercourse with a person that is incapable of consenting because the person is mentally incapable or physically helpless
- Is 16 or older and engages in any form of deviate sexual intercourse with a person younger than 12
First-degree sodomy is a class A felony and attracts a jail term of life imprisonment or between ten to 99 years. It also attracts a minimum sentence of 20 years, where the offender used or attempted to use a deadly weapon. The court may also impose a fine of not more than $60,000, and where the state views the offender as a sexually violent predator or if the sex offense involved a child, an extra ten years post-release monitoring. If the offender was 21 and older and the victim, six years or younger at the time of the offense, the punishment is life imprisonment with no option of parole.
Sodomy in The Second Degree: Under section 13A-6-64, the offense of second-degree sodom arises where the offender:
- Is a person that is 16 or older and engages in any form of deviate sexual intercourse with another person who is below 16 and more than 12
- Engages in any form of deviate sexual intercourse with a person that is not capable of consenting due to a mental defect
Second-degree sodomy is a Class B felony and attracts an imprisonment term of between two to 20 years. Where the offender used or attempted to use a firearm or weapon, or the offense involved a child, the minimum sentence is ten years. It may also attract a fine of not more than $30,000 and electronic monitoring as a condition of release.
Sexual Misconduct: An offender commits the offense of sexual misconduct under Section 13A-6-65 where:
- A male offender engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a female person without the consent of the person in circumstances other than rape, or the offender obtained consent by fraud or artifice.
- A female offender engages in any form of sexual intercourse with a male person without the consent of that person.
- An offender engages in sodomy with another person other than the circumstances that constitute sodomy in the first or second degree.
Sexual misconduct is a Class A misdemeanor and attracts a prison term of not more than a year, a fine not exceeding $6,000, and electronic monitoring as a possible condition of parole.
Sexual Torture: Under Section 13A-6-65.1, a person commits sexual torture by:
- Penetrating the anus, mouth, or vagina of another person, using an inanimate object, and with forcible compulsion, intending to sexually abuse or sexually torture.
- Penetrating the vagina, mouth, or anus of a person that is incapable of consenting and using an inanimate object
- Penetrating the mouth, anus, or vagina of a person less than 12, by a person that is 16 or older, and using an inanimate object, intending to sexually torture or abuse
Sexual torture is a Class A felony and attracts a jail term ranging between ten to 99 years or for life, under Section 13A-5-6. If the offender used or attempted to use a deadly weapon in committing the offense or commits a sex offense involving a child, the minimum sentence is 20 years. As a Class A felony, it may also attract a fine of not more than $60,000. Also, where the offender is a sexually violent predator or convicted of a Class A felony sex offense involving a child, the court may impose an extra penalty of ten years post-release supervision after the offender’s release from prison.
Sexual Abuse in The First Degree: Under Section 13A-6-66, a person commits sexual abuse in the first degree, where the person subjects another person to sexual contact, using forcible compulsion, or where the person cannot give consent. First-degree sexual abuse is a Class C felony that attracts a prison sentence of not more than ten years or less than a year and a day. Where the offender used or attempted to use a deadly weapon, it attracts not less than ten years.
Sexual Abuse in The Second Degree: Under Section 13A-6-67, a person commits this offense, where the person:
- Subjects another person to sexual contact where the other person cannot consent for some other reason than because the person is below 16
- Is 19 years or older and subjects another person to sexual contact, where the other person is less than 16 but more than 12
Second-degree sexual abuse is a Class A misdemeanor and attracts a jail sentence of not more than a year and not more than $6,000 in fines. If the person has a sex offense conviction in the second degree within one year of another sex offense, the offense rises to a Class C felony. The ensuing punishment is a jail term of not more than ten years or less than a year and a day. If the offender used or attempted to use a deadly weapon, the punishment is a minimum sentence of ten years and not more than $15,000 in fines.
Indecent Exposure: Under Section 13A-6-68, a person commits indecent exposure where such a person exposes their genitals to arouse sexual desire, and consequently cause affront or alarm, in public or the private premises of another person. Indecent exposure is a Class A misdemeanor and attracts a jail sentence of not more than a year and a fine of not more than $6,000. A second or third conviction raises the crime to a Class C felony, which attracts a jail sentence between a year and ten years. The use or attempted use of a deadly weapon or where the offense involves a child, the minimum prison term is ten years and a fine of not more than $15,000.
Enticing a Child For Immoral Purposes: Under Section 13A-6-69, enticing a child into a vehicle, house, etc., for an immoral purpose is a sexual offense, especially where the child is below 16 and the acts involve sexual intercourse, sodomy, fondling, or aggravated assault on the child. It is a Class C felony and attracts a jail sentence ranging from one to ten years and a fine of not more than $15,000.
Sexual Abuse of a Child Below 12: Section 13A-6-69.1 makes this an offense, where the offender is 16 years or older and subjects the minor to sexual contact. Sexual abuse of a child below 12 is a Class B felony that attracts a jail term ranging from two to 20 years and a fine of not more than $30,000. Where the offender used or attempted to use a firearm or dangerous weapon, the minimum sentence is ten years.
Sex Acts Between Foster Parents and Foster Children: Under Section 13A-6-71, a foster parent commits this offense by engaging in sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child under the foster parent’s care. It is a Class B felony and attracts an imprisonment term ranging from two to 20 years. Where the offender used or attempted to use a firearm or weapon, the minimum sentence is ten years. It may also attract a fine of not more than $30,000 and electronic monitoring as a condition of release.
Where the offense is sexual contact with the foster child below 19 years, it is a Class C felony and attracts a jail sentence ranging from one to ten years. The use or attempted use of a deadly weapon or where the offense involves a child raises the minimum prison term to ten years and a fine of not more than $15,000.
Where the offense involves soliciting for sex acts or sexual contact with the foster child below 19, it is a Class A misdemeanor and attracts a prison sentence of not more than a year and a fine not more than $6,000. Consent is not a defense to this crime. The section also describes a foster parent as a person approved by the Department of Human Resources or other similar agencies to care for and supervise a child in the custody of the department.
What Types of Sex Offenders Exist in Alabama?
The U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking (SMART) grouped sex offenders in Alabama under the following categories or tiers:
Tier I: The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) regards offenses in this category as less serious. Tier I offenders are expected to register for a minimum of 15 years and must verify the registration information every year. Some offenses listed in the Code of Alabama that belong in this category include:
- Sexual abuse in the first degree if the victim is 18 years or older
- First-time sexual abuse in the second degree
- Sexual misconduct
Tier II: offenses in this category are mid-level with low chances of recurring. Tier II offenders must register for at least 25 years and complete semi-annual verification of registration information. A registered Tier I offender who commits a repeat Tier I offense must register as Tier II. Some other offenses under the Code of Alabama that fit into this category are:
- Sexual abuse in the first degree, where the victim is between 16-18 years of age
- Sexual abuse in the second degree, as a second or repeat offense
- Enticing a child to enter a vehicle, house, or another place for an indecent/immoral purpose
Tier III: The law regards Tier III offenders as dangerous and imposes the strictest restrictions in this category. Tier III offenders must register for life and verify the registration information every quarter. Under the Code of Alabama, some offenses in this category include:
- Rape in the first degree
- Rape in the second degree
- Sodomy in the first degree
- Sodomy in the second degree
- Sexual torture
How to Find a Sex Offender Near Me in Alabama
Chapter 20A, Title 15 of the Code of Alabama allows the publication of sex offender information. The information contained on the registry includes the following:
- The name of the offender
- A photograph of the offender
- A complete physical description of the offender
- Address of the offender
- The offender’s sex offense history
- Fingerprints of the offender
Interested persons may find sex offender information in Alabama through the following means:
The Alabama Sex Offender Registry: The Alabama Sex Offender Registry is the official state repository for sex offender information. However, not all sex offender information is available for public viewing because the offender may be juvenile or may be exempted for any other reason. Interested persons like potential employers, family, friends, neighbors, etc., may conduct searches by name or address on the site. The database features the name, age, address, charge, recent picture, and other relevant details of a sex offender. Individuals may also contact the Registry Unit at (334) 353-1172 between the hours of 8:00 am CST - 5:00 pm CST5:00 pm, Monday - Friday.
The Alabama Background Check System: The Alabama Background Check System is another way to find out if a person is a sex offender. It allows individuals, like prospective employers, to check the criminal records of prospective or current employees. Members of the public may make an application to access these records by filling a form. Such persons may also contact the Alabama Background Check program by Phone: (1-(866) 740-4762, or (334) 353-4340).
Local Sheriff’s Office: Local law enforcement agencies receive sex offender registration information which an offender must update every three months. Individuals may find out sex offender information by contacting any sheriff’s office in Alabama. The Alabama Sheriffs Association has a directory of all sheriff offices in Alabama to make the search easy.
Alabama Sex Offender Registry
The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) manages the Alabama Sex Offender Registry and makes offender information available to the public. To carry out a direct search, visit the offender search portal, which provides the following search media:
- Area search
- Name search
- City Search
- Internet Names/Email Search
- Non-compliant Offender Search
Area Search: An individual may find all published offenders within a specific home, business, school, or other areas. To carry out this search, the individual must provide the following details:
- Zip code
- Zip plus
The individual must also choose the desired offender address type (home, work/volunteer, or other addresses). Upon providing these details, click ‘search.’
Name Search: Interested persons may find offenders by first or last names or any other aliases. To carry out a name search, click on the ‘Name icon’ in the offender search portal. Input the offender’s first name or last name in the desired boxes and click ‘search.’ The portal will then display results for any matches or partial matches.
City Search: To find published offenders using a city of residence, click the ‘City’ icon in the offender search portal. Type in a city name, and press the search button. Clicking this will display any available match or partial match.
Internet Names/Email: Interested persons may also find sex offenders using internet names or email addresses. To search, click the ‘Internet Names/Email’ icon in the offender search portal and provide the exact information. The portal displays exact matches in response to this search.
Non-compliant Search: A person may find non-compliant sex offenders using the non-compliant offender link. Clicking this link leads to a published list of all non-compliant sex offenders in Alabama, showing names, photographs, addresses, city, zip code, and other details like a list of offenders that have incomplete addresses or are not on the map.
Persons who do not want specific results may also view a list of total published offenders on the website. The list also contains relevant details like the names, addresses, cities, and zip codes of offenders. Individuals may also choose to receive email alerts and stay updated on sex offender information in Alabama by filling a form.
What Happens When You Register as a Sex Offender in Alabama?
Chapter 20A, Title 15 of the Alabama Code, imposes certain restrictions on a registered sex offender. First, an offender must register either immediately upon incarceration or release and has seven days from release to do so. The offender must also notify law enforcement agencies of any change in name, residence, or employment.
In Alabama, a sex offender must not live within 2000 feet of a school, childcare facility, other residential areas, or living area of a former victim. Also, the offender cannot work in a school or any other business that provides services to children, like a park or athletic field. An offender must also not loiter on or within 500 feet of a school, playground, park, or other facilities for minors.
The offender must also have a special driver’s license or identity card showing that such a person is a sex offender. To register as a sex offender, a person must pay a $10 fee to the registration agency and may pay in installments for a period not exceeding 90 days. Law enforcement may also carry out electronic monitoring on select sex offenders.
When an offender plans to move to a new neighborhood, the local sheriff must carry out community notification to alert the people of that area that a convicted sex offender intends to live in that vicinity. The community notification may be through fliers or letters sent to persons in the neighborhood.
What is the Alabama Sex Offender Registry?
The Alabama Sex Offender Registry provides information retrieved from sex offenders in Alabama. Maintained by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, it contains information on over 16,000 sex offenders. However, not every sex offender’s information is listed on the online sex offenders registry available to members of the public.
Sex offenders are legally required to register with local law enforcement annually during the sex offender’s birth month and every three months after. Local law enforcement agencies collate information including current photographs and fingerprints, this information is then transmitted to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. Some sex offenders are exempt from having their details on the online sex offender registry according to Alabama laws. They include juveniles, persons subject to the Youthful Offenders Act (YOA), or offenders with out-of-state status.
Who Runs the Alabama Sex Offender Registry?
The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency is charged with maintaining, indexing, and warehousing information on sex offenders collated from local law enforcement agencies.
Who Can View the Alabama Sex Offender Registry?
The sex offenders registry is classified as a public record and as such, members of the public can view the information contained in the registry. The use of information retrieved for the registry for crimes is, however, prohibited.
What are the Sex Offender Laws in Alabama?
The Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act regulates the registration and monitoring of sex offenders. The law requires the registration of sex offenders to raise awareness and also help the public protect themselves. Through the continuous requirement that sex offenders register and re-register, there is also constant contact between law enforcement and the offenders.
The law stipulates that sex offenders - persons convicted of sex crimes, must register with the Sex Offender Registry Unit of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency regardless of the jurisdiction where the sex crimes are committed. The information collected by the registry includes full name, addresses (temporary and permanent), employment/schooling information, sex, age, physical description, current photograph, and a description of the sex crime or crimes the offender was convicted for and if the sentence has been completed, date of release, and a DNA sample of the offender. The Sex Offender Registry Unit of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency is also mandated to collect information as required by the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act.
Sex Offenders are required to register no later than 3 days on release from a sentence and continuous verification is required for life. Sex offenders that default are liable to 1 to 10 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000.
The law stipulates that communities should be notified by mail and posting of the mail-in popular place(s) within the place declared to be the residence of the sex offender. The frequency of the notifications is dependent on the population in the area where the sex offender is designated to reside. The notifications sent out must be to persons with residences within 1,500 feet of the offender in all locations with a resident population of more than 5,000, notification to persons with residences in a range of 2,000 feet of the offender in all other municipalities and jurisdictions with a resident population lesser 5,000, notification within to all persons within 1,000 feet resident in Birmingham, Mobile, Huntsville, and Montgomery.
Can a Sex Offender Live With Their Family in Alabama?
Sex offenders that reside in Alabama can live with members of their families under specific circumstances. However, if there is a minor or child amongst the family, the sex offender would be in contravention of Section 15-20A-11.
How Long Do Sex Offenders Have to Register in Alabama?
Sex offenders in Alabama are required to register in person at the local law enforcement immediately after release from incarceration or immediately after conviction if not arrested. Adult sex offenders that register under this act are subject to registration for life. Registration is to be complied with within 7 days of release or conviction.
Sex offenders must update the information with local law enforcement in each county in which the adult sex offender resides after changing any required registration information. Sex offenders must register in person with local law enforcement immediately after moving in or out of a new residence, accepting or terminating employment or a volunteer position, or beginning school attendance.
Immediately upon name change, the offender must appear in person to make the registration updates. Changes in telephone numbers, email addresses, instant message addresses, or other online identifiers or Internet service providers can be reported to local law enforcement in person, electronically, or telephonically as stated by the local law enforcement agency.
An adult sex offender is required to verify all registration details during the adult sex offender's birth month and every three months thereafter, regardless of the month of conviction, for the duration of the adult sex offender's life with local law enforcement in the county in which the adult sex offender resides.
Do Sex Offenders Have to Notify Neighbors in Alabama?
Sex offenders are not required to notify their neighbors of their sex offender status. Persons interested in knowing of sex offenders within a neighborhood may sign up for the sex offender email notification service. Through this service, interested persons may register an address or particular postcode and will receive notifications if a sex offender moves within the registered area.
Do Sex Offenders Have to Put Up a Sign in Their Yard in Alabama?
Sex offenders are not legally obligated to put up a sign in their yard stating their sex offender status. Interested members of the public may search for offenders on the registry by inputting information like the address, zip code, city, or state.
The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency(ALEA) however is responsible for supervising sex offenders and monitoring them electronically in accordance with Section 15-20A-20. According to this statute:
- The Director of the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency can act on discretion to create rules necessary to implement and administer this system of active electronic monitoring including establishing policies and mechanisms to alert the person's probation and parole officer or other court-appointed supervising authority when there is a violation of his or her electronic monitoring restrictions.
- The Board of Pardons and Paroles or any relevant court may decide to state the need for electronic supervision as a condition for parole, probation, community corrections, court referral officer supervision, pretrial release, or any other community-based punishment option as to be administered on a sex offender.
- Any person classified as a sexually violent predator in accordance with Section 15-20A-19 shall be subject to electronic monitoring supervised and monitored by the Board of Paroles and pardons for a period not less than 10 years from the date of release from incarceration.
- Any sex offender convicted of crimes involving children shall be subject to electronic monitoring by the Boards of Pardons and Paroles for a period no less than 10 years from the release of a sentence.
- Persons subject to electronic monitoring shall refund the supervising entity the fees to subsidize the cost of the supervision. This fee shall not be more than $15 per day, and the amount would be determined by the Board of Pardons and Paroles.
Any person who tampers with the electronic monitoring equipment used for sex offenders would have been deemed to have committed a Class C Felony.
How Close Can a Sex Offender Live to a School in Alabama?
Adult sex offenders are not legally allowed to establish a residence, maintain a residence after release or conviction, or establish any other living residence within 2,000 feet of the property on which any school or childcare facility is located unless otherwise exempted.
How to Look Up Sex Offenders in Alabama
Interested persons may find sex offenders in Alabama using Alabama the Online Search Portal. Interested persons may search for residents in an area by providing the address, city, zip, or zip plus. Other ways to find an offender include by name, city, non-compliant status, and internet names/email. The portal contains all sex offender data except information on juveniles, persons subject to the Youthful Offenders Act (YOA), or offenders with out-of-state status.
Can You Expunge a Sex Offender Charge in Alabama?
In Alabama sex offenders can get relief from residency prohibitions, employment prohibitions, and registration for life according to the following criteria:
Section 15-20A-23 - Adult sex offender: Relief from residency restriction
- If the sex offender is terminally ill, permanently unable to move, or the sex offender has a debilitating medical condition.
- The relief application is to be filed with the circuit court of a county.
- If a petition is for relief from residency restriction is denied, then the offender shall not file another petition for at least 12 months.
- The filing fee for this process is $200 for assessing the petition.
- Persons who provide false information are considered to have committed a Class C Felony.
Section 15-20A-24 - Adult sex offender: Relief from registration and notification.
- Sex offenders are allowed to apply for relief from registration when they meet the following criteria - The crime committed is Rape in the second degree, sodomy in the second degree, Sexual abuse in the second degree, Sexual misconduct, conspiracy to commit any of the listed offenses.
- The sex offender must prove that the crime did not involve force and was a crime committed at a certain age.
- The victim of the offense should be 13 years old or older.
- The offender was less than 5 years older than the victim.
- For crimes committed outside the Alabama Jurisdiction, the offender must file for relief in the jurisdiction where he/she was convicted.
- For petitions that have been denied, there shall be no petition submitted from the offender for another 12 months.
- Sex offenders who provide false information when making relief from registration applications shall be guilty of a Class C felony.
Section 15-20A-25 - Adult sex offender: Relief from employment restriction.
- Sex offenders shall be ineligible for relief from employment restriction if the sex crime committed was: First-degree rape, first-degree sodomy, first-degree sexual abuse, sex abuse of a child less than 12 years old, sexual torture, sex offenses involving a child, any attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the above offenses.
- Sex offenders who provide wrong information on the application shall be guilty of a Class C felony.
Is Public Urination a Sexual Offense in Alabama?
Public urination is not expressly a sexual offense under the Alabama statute. It may be classified as indecent exposure in the state of Alabama according to Section 13A-6-68: Indecent exposure. Under this law, persons who expose genitals in situations that may cause alarm or affront are liable under the act.
What is Indecent Exposure in Alabama?
Under the Alabama Statute, indecent exposure is a crime committed when a person exposes genitals under circumstances that are likely to cause an affront or alarm. Under the law, the exposure must have been done with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of himself or herself or someone other than the spouse. Indecent exposure is a class A misdemeanor but 3 or more convictions will result in a Class C felony charge.
How to Report a Sex Offender in Alabama
Sex offenders in Alabama can be reported to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency by sending as much information on the offenders as possible to any of the following locations:
Alabama State Bureau of Investigation
State Bureau of Investigation
P.O. Box 1511
Montgomery, AL 36102-1511
Marine Patrol Enforcement Contacts
Marine Patrol Headquarters
301 South Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 517-2950 or
Matt Brooks, Captain
1830 Constellation Avenue
Alpine, AL 35014
Phone: (800) 499-1667
Fax: (256) 268-9663
Gary Buchanan, Captain
126 Marina Rd
Alexander City, AL 35010
Phone: (800) 432-7389
Fax: (256) 329-1633
Gary Buchanan, Captain
27557 Larry C Kelley Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone: (888) 903-2583
Fax: (251) 981-9248
Interested members of the public may also obtain public record information from third-party websites. These privately owned sites typically host data culled from public databases and repositories. However, the information available on third-party sites may vary since they are independent of government sources. In order to use a third-party site, record seekers may be required to provide all or some of the following information:
- The full name on the record of choice
- The last known or current address of the named individual
- The address of the requestor